UN Human Rights Council

The United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC) is the body in the United Nations that is responsible for all matters of human rights around the world. The body has the entirety of the world as its responsibility, and therefore is responsible for monitoring, and determining policy all issues ranging from women’s rights in rural Afghanistan to how migrants are treated at the Southern Border of the United States. Moreover, the council is among the most controversial in the entire United Nations system due to the fact that some of the worst human rights violators in the world are among its members. In this committee, we will discuss some of the most pressing human rights issues facing the world today. This will range from the rights of religious minorities across the world, to complex historical conflicts such as the Anglophone Crisis in Cameroon and the Western Sahara.


Maxwell Bone

R. Maxwell Bone is a senior at the George Washington University’s Elliott School of International Affairs where he is majoring in International Affairs with concentrations in International Politics and African Studies. His main research areas are African Affairs, human rights, democracy, and good governance. He has conducted fieldwork on matters related to his areas of research in the Middle East, South Asia, Sub-Saharan Africa, Europe, North Africa, and Latin America. He has lived in Morocco, Tanzania, and Cameroon and writes and publishes extensively on the Anglophone Crisis in Cameroon. His writings on Africa and South Asia have been published in The Diplomat, Mail and Guardian, Radio Free Europe, and All Africa. He has worked with an array of organizations in Washington including the Atlantic Council, Freedom House, and consulting firms. In addition to his professional work, he is a member of the GWU Model United Nations Team and travels for competitions several times a year. He is looking forward to seeing the participants of WAMUNC engage in detailed debates on pressing topics in global human rights at this time. Should one have any questions for him prior to WAMUNC, his email is rmaxwellbone@gwmail.gwu.edu.

Secretary General 


Emma Ogonoski


Director of Conference Relations

Carsyn Baxter


  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Snapchat Social Icon