WAMUNC Crest (Blue and Gold) copy.png

Arab League

The League of Arab states also known as the Arab League is a voluntarily formed  regional body consisting of Arabic speaking countries spanning across the continents of Africa  and Asia (Generally referred to as the Middle East and North Africa (MENA)). Also present are  five none-Arabic speaking nations who act as observers. The regional body was formed in Cairo  in 1945 and consists of 22 members, with the intention of fostering the collaboration of political  aims, settling disputes amongst members and to direct and organize the development of member  state’s economies and observers within the league. All member states are given one vote within  the league while the five countries granted observer status can speak within the council offering  their insight on issues that are discussed.